Royal Observatory of Belgium

  • Ringlaan 3, 1180 Brussels, Belgium
Abstract from DBPedia
    The Royal Observatory of Belgium (French: Observatoire Royal de Belgique, Dutch: Koninklijke Sterrenwacht van België), has been situated in the Uccle municipality of Brussels (Belgium) since 1890. It was first established in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode in 1826 by William I under the impulse of Adolphe Quetelet. It was home to a 100 cm (39 in) diameter aperture Zeiss reflector in the first half of the 20th century, one of the largest telescopes in the world at the time. It owns a variety of other astronomical instruments, such as astrographs, as well as a range of seismograph equipment (for detecting earthquakes). Its main activities are: * Reference systems and geodynamics; * Astrometry and dynamics of celestial bodies; * Astrophysics; * Solar physics. The asteroid 1276 Ucclia is named in honour of the city and the observatory and 16908 Groeselenberg is named for the hill the observatory is located on.

    ベルギー王立天文台(ベルギーおうりつてんもんだい、仏:Observatoire royal de Belgique,蘭:Koninklijke Sterrenwacht van België)は、ブリュッセルにあるベルギー王立の天文台。アドルフ・ケトレーにより1828年に設立された。 2004年現在、国際的な太陽観測拠点になっている。国立ではないが、国際的には他国の国立天文台と同等の扱いを受けている。重要な天文台の1つである。