Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

  • Kaiserstraße 12, 76131 Karlsruhe, Germany
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Abstract from DBPedia
    The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT; German: Karlsruher Institut für Technologie) is a public research university that is one of the largest educational institutions and the largest research institution by funding in Germany. KIT was created in 2009 when the University of Karlsruhe (Universität Karlsruhe), founded in 1825 as a public research university and also known as the "Fridericiana", merged with the Karlsruhe Research Center (Forschungszentrum Karlsruhe), which had originally been established in 1956 as a national nuclear research center (Kernforschungszentrum Karlsruhe, or KfK). KIT is a member of the TU9, an incorporated society of the largest and most notable German institutes of technology. As part of the German Universities Excellence Initiative KIT was one of three universities which were awarded excellence status in 2006. In the following "German Excellence Strategy" KIT was awarded as one of eleven "Excellence Universities" in 2019. KIT is among the leading technical universities in Germany and Europe and established the first German faculty for computer science in 1972. According to different bibliometric rankings, KIT is the German university with the strongest research in engineering and natural sciences. As of 2018, six Nobel laureates are affiliated with KIT. The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology is well known for many inventors and entrepreneurs who studied or taught there, including Heinrich Hertz, Karl Friedrich Benz and the founders of SAP SE.

    カールスルーエ工科大学(独:KIT / Karlsruher Institut für Technologie)は、1825年、ルートヴィヒ1世 (バーデン大公) によって創立されたドイツでは最古の工業大学。ドイツのバーデン=ヴュルテンベルク州に位置する。 ドイツ9大工科大学によるコンソーシアム(TU9)に参加している。世界100大学に常に入り、工学系は現在ドイツで最も評価が高い。