• bryophyte
  • Any plant of the division Bryophyta, having stems and leaves but lacking true vascular tissue and roots and reproducing by spores: includes the mosses and liverworts.
Abstract from DBPedia
    The Bryophyta s.l. are a proposed taxonomic division containing three groups of non-vascular land plants (embryophytes): the liverworts, hornworts and mosses. Bryophyta s.s. consists of the mosses only. They are characteristically limited in size and prefer moist habitats although they can survive in drier environments. The bryophytes consist of about 20,000 plant species. Bryophytes produce enclosed reproductive structures (gametangia and sporangia), but they do not produce flowers or seeds. They reproduce sexually by spores and asexually by fragmentation or the production of gemmae. Though bryophytes were considered a paraphyletic group in recent years, almost all of the most recent phylogenetic evidence supports the monophyly of this group, as originally classified by Wilhelm Schimper in 1879. The term bryophyte comes from Ancient Greek βρύον (brúon) 'tree moss, liverwort', and φυτόν (phutón) 'plant'.

    コケ植物(コケしょくぶつ、英: Bryophyte)とは、陸上植物かつ非維管束植物であるような植物の総称、もしくはそこに含まれる植物のこと。コケ類(コケるい)や蘚苔類(せんたいるい)、蘚苔植物(せんたいしょくぶつ)などともいう。世界中でおよそ2万種ほどが記録されている。多くは緑色であるが、赤色や褐色の種もある。大きな群として、蘚類・苔類・ツノゴケ類の3つを含む。それをまとめて一つの分類群との扱いを受けてきたが、現在では認められていない。 なお、日常用語にて「コケ」は、そのほかに地衣類なども含む。その他文化的側面については苔を参照されたい。