• Antarctica
  • A continent lying chiefly within the Antarctic Circle and asymmetrically centered on the South Pole: it consists of an ice-covered plateau (some 95 percent of Antarctica is covered by an icecap averaging 1,6 km in thickness), 1800-3000 m above sea level, and mountains ranges rising to 4500 m with some volcanic peaks; average temperatures all below freezing and human settlement is confined to research station.
Abstract from DBPedia
    Antarctica (/ænˈtɑːrktɪkə/ or /ænˈtɑːrtɪkə/) is Earth's southernmost continent. Situated almost entirely south of the Antarctic Circle and surrounded by the Southern Ocean, it contains the geographic South Pole. Antarctica is the fifth-largest continent, being nearly twice the size of Australia, and has an area of 14,200,000 km2 (5,500,000 sq mi). During the summer months 5,000 people reside at research stations, a figure that drops to around 1,000 in the winter. Most of Antarctica is covered by ice, with an average thickness of 1.9 km (1.2 mi). Antarctica is on average the coldest, driest, and windiest of the continents, and has the highest average elevation. It is mainly a polar desert, with annual precipitation of 200 mm (8 in) along the coast and far less inland. About 70% of the world's freshwater reserves are frozen there, which if melted would raise global sea levels by over 60 metres (200 ft). Antarctica holds the record for the lowest measured temperature on Earth, −89.2 °C (−128.6 °F). The average temperature for the third quarter (the coldest part of the year) is −63 °C (−81 °F). Native species of animals include mites, nematodes, penguins, seals and tardigrades. Vegetation consists of tundra. The continental mass of Antarctica was probably first seen in 1820, when the Russian expedition led by Fabian Gottlieb von Bellingshausen and Mikhail Lazarev sighted the Fimbul ice shelf. The continent was discovered in January 1840 by the United States Exploring Expedition, under Lieutenant Charles Wilkes; and a separate French expedition under Jules Dumont d'Urville. The Wilkes expedition—though it did not make a landing—remained long enough in the region to survey 1,300 km (800 mi) of the coast. The first confirmed landing was by a Norwegian team in 1895. Antarctica is governed by about 30 countries, all of which are parties to the 1959 Antarctic Treaty System. According to the terms of the treaty, military activity, mining, nuclear explosions and nuclear waste disposal are all prohibited.

    南極大陸(なんきょくたいりく、英: Antarctica、([æntˈɑːrtɪkə]または[ænˈtɑːktɪkə]) 、西: Antártica、仏: Antarctique、諾: Antarktika、葡: Antártica)は、地球の最も南にあり、南極点を含む大陸。 南半球の南極地方にあり、南氷洋に囲まれた南極圏に位置する。5番目に大きな大陸であり約1420万 km2の面積は、オーストラリア大陸のほぼ2倍に相当する。約98 %は氷で覆われ、その厚さは平均2.00325 kmに及ぶ。